The People's Liberation Big Band

The People's Liberation Big Band perform "Night of the Living Dead: The Deep Cuts." The People's Liberation Big Band of Greater Kansas City is a musicians' collective formed for the purpose of creating and performing new large ensemble jazz music.

The ensemble has three primary purposes:

1. The People's Liberation Big acts as an open forum for composers and arrangers to workshop new compositions.

2. The group actively builds performance repertoire of both individual shorter works and new large scale productions.

3. The ensemble is dedicated to social justice and making the world a better place.

The People's Liberation Big Band of Greater Kansas City was formed in 2006. The group has built a large repertoire of original compositions and unique arrangements by Kansas City composers Brad Cox, Patrick Alonzo Conway, Matt Otto, Forest Stewart, Jeffrey Rickman, Roger Wilder, Nick Howell, Jeff Harshbarger, Gerald Spaits, Mark Southerland, Bill McKemy, Peter Lawless, Hunter Long, Russell Thorpe, and others.

The group's large scale works include "The Nutcracker and the Mouse King" with Owen/Cox Dance Group, new film scores for the silent films "Battleship Potemkin," "The Cameraman's Revenge," "Frogland," and "The Mascot," new arrangements of music from Kurt Weill's "Three Penny Opera," and Mark Southerland's "Revisionist Jazz History." 

Monday, October 29, 7:00pm




American Jazz Museum


Blue Room Jazz Club
1616 E 18th St
Kansas City, MO 64108
United States